This site is stealing every post from widgetslab.com
I won’t link to this site. What I will do is give you a link to Google Blog search that shows you how many posts they have stolen from widgetslab.com. I link to Google Blog Search results because this is the way Word Press displays sites that link to Widgets Lab.
I have contacted Google about this and here is what they said:
Hello,
Thank you for your note. It is our policy to respond to notices of alleged
infringement that comply with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (the
text of which can be found at the U.S. Copyright Office website:
http://www.copyright.gov/) and other applicable intellectual property
laws. In this case, this means that if we receive proper notice of
infringement, we will forward that notice to the responsible web site
publisher.To file a notice of infringement with us, you must provide a written
communication (by fax or regular mail, not by email) that sets forth the
items specified below. Please note that pursuant to that Act, you may be
liable to the alleged infringer for damages (including costs and
attorneys’ fees) if you materially misrepresent that you own an item when
you in fact do not. Accordingly, if you are not sure whether you have the
right to request removal from our service, we suggest that you first
contact an attorney.To expedite our ability to process your request, please use the following
format (including section numbers):1. Identify in sufficient detail the copyrighted work that you believe has
been infringed upon. For example, “The copyrighted work at issue is the
text that appears on http://www.legal.com/legal_page.html.”2. Identify the material that you claim is infringing upon the copyrighted
work listed in item #1 above. You must identify each page that allegedly
contains infringing material by providing its URL.3. Provide information reasonably sufficient to permit Google to contact
you (email address is preferred).4. Include the following statement: “I have a good faith belief that use
of the copyrighted materials described above on the allegedly infringing
webpages is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.”5. Include the following statement: “I swear, under penalty of perjury,
that the information in the notification is accurate and that I am the
copyright owner or am authorized to act on behalf of the owner of an
exclusive right that is allegedly infringed.”6. Sign the paper.
7. Send the written communication to the following address:
Google, Inc.
Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043OR Fax to:
(650) 618-8507, Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints
Regards,
The Google AdSense Team
Why do we as bloggers have to jump through hoops in order to protect our content? It should be a simple matter of reporting a problem, having an authority observe the offending action and then take action. It is plainly obvious that ‘yourgadgetlive’ is stealing content.
These sites can be reported by following the ‘Ads By Google’ on the offending page. Then navigate to the bottom of the resulting Google Adsense page and look for this link: ‘Send Google your thoughts on the site or the ads you just saw’
If enough people report yourgadgetlive.com (and their many other thief sites) something might be done about it.
Related posts:
that’s pretty bad!
just went to their site and saw this post in the first page so now all their readers know they are thieves (the bast*rds!)
by the way, have you seen their footer?
“Copyright ©2006 Your Gadget Live. All rights reserved.”
yeah, sure…
do you think is related to your today’s number of readers from feedburner? (666!)
salut!
Ernesto Quezada » I think the Feedburner image is upside down for today. We really have 999 readers and tomorrow we will have 1000. Then the ad rates will skyrocket!
hehe
Learn about black hole seo (bluehatseo.com), if the scrapers are dumb you can inject your own links in the scraped content and at least get something out of it (backlinks). It looks like this idiot isn’t stripping the links out, so why not put a few links back to widgetslab.com in a couple posts and pick up some backlinks? Lemons into lemonade and all that…
Also note that you have licensed your content under the Creative Commons license… All this other site needs to do is put an attribution to widgetlabs and they are in the clear. You might consider changing your license to something less permissive, as well as Copyscape.
darkmonk,
Thank you for the suggestions. I have implemented some of them. I am not sure if I want that site linking back to me. but at this point the site is so maybe i should start doing more linking.
I’ve been amazed with how often this occurs – and the situation seems to be growing worse.
I agree with you that it would be nice to not have to jump through hoops to protect our content. Annoying and a shame.